Medical evidence services · brand review

American Medical Experts review: a fee schedule for lawyers, none for veterans

A litigation-support firm that publishes a fee schedule down to $1.75 a page for expert-witness work, and no price at all for the nexus letters it sells veterans.

Sources checked Sep 4, 2026

Operator
American Medical Experts, LLC, of Aldie, Virginia. BBB records it as started and incorporated 7/29/2008, categorised as litigation support, with Mr. Eric Jacobs listed as Director.Source: Better Business Bureau — American Medical Experts, LLC profile (Aldie, VA) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Model
Per document, quoted after a call. A board-certified doctor reviews records, holds a telehealth consultation, drafts a report, and signs the final version; two invoices are involved, a Step 1 and a Step 2.Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Advertised price
Not published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
Payment plan
Not published — source required
Needs: a service agreement or terms of service — the page titled "Terms and Conditions" carries SMS consent terms only
VA-accredited

Public sources checked Sep 4, 2026. Terms change; check them before you sign anything.

Advertised"Guaranteed Lowest Rates" — in the site's own page title, on every pageSource: American Medical Experts — home page · Verified Sep 4, 2026
In the termsCheckable only on the litigation line, which publishes a full schedule. No veteran-facing service carries a rate to compare.Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026

VeteranAI is our product, so this review is not neutral. Every fact on the page links to the document it came from and the date we read it. Judge the sources, not us.

The title of American Medical Experts' home page reads "Home - American Medical Experts A+ Rated Guaranteed Lowest Rates all Experts." On one part of the site that guarantee is checkable in detail. The expert-witness page — litigation work sold to lawyers — publishes a two-step schedule: $995 for a review of up to 100 pages, $1.75 for each page beyond that, $3 to $6 per deposition transcript or x-ray image, $100 to $700 per CD, then $695 to $3,995 for the signed report, with a $750 hourly rate for extra work and a $295 minimum processing fee if you cancel after uploading.

None of that is available to a veteran. We read every service, process, FAQ, terms and privacy page on the veteran-facing side and found no price for a nexus letter, a DBQ, a telehealth diagnosis or a rush tier. The only dollar figures there are a "$500 Total Value" promotional line on the home page and a "$200 off per service per referral" credit on the process page. Every service page ends in "Book Your Free Consultation." Same company, same domain, same guarantee in the page title — priced to the page for one set of buyers and quoted on a call for the other.

The company itself is older and broader than most of this category. BBB records American Medical Experts, LLC of Aldie, Virginia as incorporated in July 2008 — eighteen years — filed under litigation support rather than veterans' services, BBB accredited since 2016, A+ rated, with 41 customer reviews averaging 4.78 out of 5 and three complaints in the last three years. The home page says "Over 30 Years of Experience", which is a decade more than the entity has existed; the expert-witness page says "For over three decades". Reports are written by board-certified physicians, psychiatrists and licensed psychologists, delivered in about three to six weeks with rush options down to one to two business days.

Two documents a veteran would want are not what their names suggest. The page titled "Terms and Conditions" contains SMS consent terms and nothing else — no scope of service, no fee schedule, no refund policy. The privacy policy governs name, phone number and email; the medical records you upload through the SharePoint link the FAQ describes are not mentioned in it. Whatever you decide here, an accredited VSO will file and appeal your claim for $0.

VeteranAI is our product, so this review is not neutral. Every fact on the page links to the document it came from and the date we read it. Judge the sources, not us.

What we did not do
  • We did not buy the service.
  • We did not book the free consultation, which is the only route to a price.
  • We did not enter a customer portal.
  • We did not contact staff.
  • We did not read a signed client contract, and none is published.
  • We did not buy the PACER filings in the dockets that share the company's name.
03 · TL;DR

The short version

04 · The company

What American Medical Experts actually is

  • BBB reports: American Medical Experts, LLC is a Virginia company in Aldie, incorporated 29 July 2008 and BBB-accredited since 17 November 2016. BBB files it under litigation support — expert-witness work — with veterans' medical evidence as one line of business.

    Source: Better Business Bureau — American Medical Experts, LLC profile (Aldie, VA) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • The services offered are medical and mental health nexus letters, telehealth diagnoses producing a new medical record, DBQs, TDIU opinions from vocational experts, presumptive-condition work (Camp Lejeune, Gulf War and burn pits, Agent Orange, jet fuel), and comprehensive record-review analysis.

    Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • Writers are board-certified: a mental health telehealth nexus letter is "conducted and written by either a Board-Certified Psychiatrist (MD) or Licensed Psychologist (PhD)", and medical evidence services by board-certified doctors.

    Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • The company draws one clinical line explicitly: "We provide specialized medical consultation via convenient Telehealth appointments—we do not provide medical treatment."

    Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • Turnaround is about three to six weeks, with rush tiers of three to five business days and one to two business days including weekends and holidays. None of the three tiers is priced.

    Source: American Medical Experts — FAQs · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • The company is not on VA's accreditation roster as an organisation, so it cannot represent you. Under 38 U.S.C. § 5901 only an accredited person may act for a claimant.

    Source: VA Office of General Counsel — Accreditation search · Verified Sep 4, 2026
05 · Fees

What it costs, from the documents

The veteran rows are red and the litigation rows are not, which is the finding rather than a gap in our reading. Both sets of services are sold from the same domain by the same company; only one of them is priced in public. The litigation figures are listed here for that comparison and are not a quote for a nexus letter.

ItemAmount, from the company's own documents
Medical nexus letter (standard)Not published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
Medical nexus letter (telehealth)Not published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
Mental health nexus letter (telehealth)Not published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
Telehealth diagnosis and new medical recordNot published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
DBQNot published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
Rush service (3–5 business days, or 1–2 business days)Not published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
Additional nexus letters for further conditionsNot published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
Referral credit
$200 off per service, per referralSource: American Medical Experts — Our Process · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Promotional value claim on the home page
"Claim Your $500 Total Value Today" — a value, not a priceSource: American Medical Experts — home page · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Refund or cancellation terms (veteran services)Not published — source required
Needs: a service agreement or terms of service — the page titled "Terms and Conditions" carries SMS consent terms only
Litigation expert review — step 1, up to 100 pages
$995 — not a veteran quoteSource: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Litigation — each additional record page
$1.75 per page; $3–$6 per deposition transcript or x-ray image; $100–$700 per CDSource: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Litigation expert review — step 2, signed report
$695–$3,995, "only paid if you have a supportive opinion"Source: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Litigation — additional work after review begins
$750 per hour for a Complete Case Review; expert rates otherwiseSource: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Litigation — cancellation after records are uploaded
$295 minimum processing fee per expert requested, plus transaction feesSource: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Worked examples
  • A litigation client can price a 300-page case before calling: $995 for the first 100 pages + (200 × $1.75) = $1,345, then $695 to $3,995 for the signed report — a range of $2,040 to $5,340, all of it published.

    Source: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • A veteran buying a nexus letter from the same company cannot do that arithmetic at all, because no input to it is published. The only route to a number is the consultation.

    Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • The company's own cancellation figure exists on one side only: a litigation client who stops after uploading pays a $295 minimum processing fee. No published document says what a veteran has paid at the equivalent point.

    Source: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
06 · Guarantee

The guarantee, line by line

ProvisionWhat it saysMain limitation
"Guaranteed Lowest Rates"

The claim appears in the site's page title on every page — "American Medical Experts A+ Rated Guaranteed Lowest Rates all Experts" — and again as a heading on the litigation page, "Guaranteed Lowest Rates for Expert Witness Reports".

Source: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026

No page states what the guarantee covers, what evidence of a lower price it accepts, or what it pays out. A veteran cannot test it at all, because no veteran-facing rate is published to compare.

Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
"97% Success Rate"

"AME pre-screens your case with our experienced staff, directors and in-house doctors. This process helps ensure 97% success rate in delivering the Nexus letter and medical evidence you need to maximize your benefits."

Source: American Medical Experts — home page · Verified Sep 4, 2026

The sentence measures delivery of a document, not a VA outcome — and it is a rate among cases the company has already screened for acceptance, which is a population it selects. No period, case count, or definition of success is published.

Source: American Medical Experts — home page · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Revisions

"We offer you multiple revisions to your drafted report" before the final signed version is delivered.

Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026

"Multiple" is not a number, and no published document caps it, prices a further round, or says what happens if you and the expert disagree.

Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Two-step payment

Step 1 is record review, telehealth consultation and a draft report; Step 2 is finalisation and delivery of the signed report.

Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026

The company's own SMS example shows the signed report is released against a "Step 2 invoice". What Step 1 costs, and whether it is refundable if you stop there, is not published.

Source: American Medical Experts — Terms and Conditions (last updated 03/19/2025) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Refunds

Nothing. No published document on the site states a refund or cancellation policy.

Source: American Medical Experts — Terms and Conditions (last updated 03/19/2025) · Verified Sep 4, 2026

The page a reader would go to for one is titled "Terms and Conditions" and contains SMS consent terms, last updated 03/19/2025.

Source: American Medical Experts — Terms and Conditions (last updated 03/19/2025) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
07 · Marketing vs contract

What the sales page says and what the agreement says

The sales page says

"Guaranteed Lowest Rates" in the page title of every page, including every veteran-facing one, and "Claim Your $500 Total Value Today" on the home page.

Source: American Medical Experts — home page · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The contract says

The only fee schedule on the site sells expert-witness work to litigators: $995 for 100 pages, $1.75 a page thereafter, $695–$3,995 for the signed report. No veteran service carries a rate, and the page titled Terms and Conditions is an SMS policy — so there is nothing to hold the guarantee to on the side veterans buy from.

Source: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The sales page says

"Exceptional results 97% Success Rate" on the home page, beside "Highest Quality Nexus Letters and Medical Evidence".

Source: American Medical Experts — home page · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The contract says

The explanation beneath it measures something else: the pre-screening "helps ensure 97% success rate in delivering the Nexus letter and medical evidence you need" — delivery of a document to a pre-selected group, not a VA grant rate. No denominator, period, or definition is published.

Source: American Medical Experts — home page · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The sales page says

"Over 30 Years of Experience and Highest Standards of Medical Evidence" on the home page, and "For over three decades" on the expert-witness page.

Source: American Medical Experts — Expert Witness (litigation practice) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The contract says

BBB reports: BBB records American Medical Experts, LLC as started and incorporated on 7/29/2008 — eighteen years, not thirty. The claim may refer to the individual experience of its directors or experts; no page says so.

Source: Better Business Bureau — American Medical Experts, LLC profile (Aldie, VA) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The sales page says

"Is my personal information secure? Yes—absolutely. … All clients are required to sign a HIPAA authorization … Your records are uploaded through a secure, personalized SharePoint link that only you can access."

Source: American Medical Experts — FAQs · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The contract says

The privacy policy collects "Name, Phone Number and Email" and addresses nothing else. It does not mention medical records, service records, the SharePoint upload, HIPAA, or how long records are kept.

Source: American Medical Experts — Privacy Policy (last updated 03/07/2025) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The sales page says

"Trusted by thousands for integrity, accuracy, and proven results" and "5-Star Customer Rating", in the footer of every page and on the home page.

Source: American Medical Experts — home page · Verified Sep 4, 2026
The contract says

BBB reports: BBB's own figure is 4.78 out of 5 across 41 customer reviews, with three complaints in the last three years. That is a good score; it is not five stars and the sample is 41.

Source: Better Business Bureau — American Medical Experts customer reviews · Verified Sep 4, 2026
08 · Accreditation

What American Medical Experts can and cannot do for you

TaskAmerican Medical Experts's public terms
Explain general VA concepts or provide educational tools
YesSource: American Medical Experts — FAQs · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Generate drafts and organize information
YesSource: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Provide support after a denialNot published — source required
Needs: the company's terms or disclaimer on: provide support after a denial
Submit a claim, appeal, evidence, or other filing for youNot published — source required
Needs: the company's terms or disclaimer on: submit a claim, appeal, evidence, or other filing for you
Become your representative of record
Access VA systems as your appointed representative
Speak for you before VA, the Board, or the CAVC
Provide legal adviceNot published — source required
Needs: the company's terms or disclaimer on: provide legal advice
Provide medical care or arrange a medical opinion
YesSource: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
09 · Privacy

Your records: who holds them, for how long

  • The privacy policy, last updated 7 March 2025, names exactly three items: "Name, Phone Number and Email". Its data-usage, protection and retention clauses all speak to phone numbers and SMS history.

    Source: American Medical Experts — Privacy Policy (last updated 03/07/2025) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • The records you actually hand over are described only in the FAQ: medical records and diagnoses, service treatment records, DD214, a screenshot of your VA rating breakdown, prescription records, decision letters, personal and buddy statements, and deployment details.

    Source: American Medical Experts — FAQs · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • The FAQ says those records go "through a secure, personalized SharePoint link that only you can access and protect with your own code," are shared only with your assigned medical expert, and are "retrieved once your report is finalized." What retrieved means, and where the files go afterwards, is not stated.

    Source: American Medical Experts — FAQs · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • The FAQ says all clients sign a HIPAA authorization. That authorisation is not published, so what you would be authorising is not readable before the call.

    Source: American Medical Experts — FAQs · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • There is a deletion right, exercised by telephone: "You have the right to access, correct, delete, or restrict the processing of your personal data … please contact us at (703) 542-4911." No email or web route is offered.

    Source: American Medical Experts — Privacy Policy (last updated 03/07/2025) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
  • SMS is high-volume by the company's own account: "You may receive up to 12 SMS messages per week" covering reminders, case status, document requests, invoices and follow-ups.

    Source: American Medical Experts — Terms and Conditions (last updated 03/19/2025) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
11 · What veterans say

Review platforms, weighed against each other

Platforms disagree with each other, so they are listed side by side with their sample sizes rather than averaged.

12 · Fit

Who it fits, and who should choose another route

May be a good fit if
  • You want a board-certified physician, psychiatrist or licensed psychologist rather than a mid-level provider, and the site names those credentials for each service.
  • You want the widest service list in this category — TDIU vocational opinions, presumptive conditions, neurology, A&A and SMC — from one vendor.
  • You are on a deadline and the one-to-two business day rush tier solves it, and you are willing to get the price by phone.
  • You put weight on a long track record and a large review sample: eighteen years in business, 41 BBB reviews at 4.78, three complaints in three years.
Choose another route if
  • You will not book a call to learn a price. There is no other way to get one here.
  • You want to read the refund terms before you pay. There are none published; the terms page is an SMS policy.
  • You want a written commitment about your medical records specifically. The privacy policy covers your name, phone and email.
  • You want representation. The company is not on VA's accreditation roster; an accredited VSO does that for $0.
  • VA may already owe you a C&P exam for the same question. Price that free path first.
13 · Comparison

American Medical Experts, an accredited VSO, and VeteranAI

American Medical ExpertsAccredited VSO · $0VeteranAI
What it is
A litigation-support firm that also sells veterans' medical evidence: nexus letters, DBQs, telehealth diagnoses and vocational opinions, written by board-certified clinicians.Source: Better Business Bureau — American Medical Experts, LLC profile (Aldie, VA) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Accredited representation. A VSO officer files, argues, and appeals for you.Software. Reads your C-file and decision letters and drafts statements you edit and file yourself.
Fee modelNot published — source required
Needs: a published price for the veteran-facing services — the site quotes them on a consultation call, while publishing a full fee schedule for its litigation expert-witness line
$0. No fee, no percentage, ever.Published subscription. $25/mo · $250/yr for Pro; Pro is $25/month or $250/year. Max 3× is $49/month or $499/year. Max 5× is $99/month or $999/year.
Tied to your back pay
Not stated either way. No published document mentions back pay, benefits or a contingency — but no published document states a fee model at all.Source: American Medical Experts — Terms and Conditions (last updated 03/19/2025) · Verified Sep 4, 2026
No.No. The same price whether the claim is granted or denied.
CancelNot published — source required
Needs: a service agreement or terms of service — the page titled "Terms and Conditions" carries SMS consent terms only
Revoke the appointment at any time by filing a new VA Form 21-22.In-app, any time. Billing stops at the end of the period you paid for.
Files on your behalf
No. No unaccredited company can file for you, and the company is not on VA's roster.Source: 38 U.S.C. § 5901 — Prohibition against acting as claims agent without recognition · Verified Sep 3, 2026
Yes. Your representative of record.No. You file, or your accredited representative does.
VA-accredited
No. The accredited-organisation search returned no entry on the day this page was checked.Source: VA Office of General Counsel — Accreditation search · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Yes.No. We are not accredited and not your representative; verify at https://www.va.gov/ogc/apps/accreditation/index.asp.
Signed medical opinion
Yes — that is the product. "Receive your final, signed report ready for submission," written by a board-certified doctor, psychiatrist or licensed psychologist.Source: American Medical Experts — Services · Verified Sep 4, 2026
No. A VSO helps you gather evidence; a clinician signs an opinion.No. We draft a nexus letter from your records and the medical literature for your own clinician to review, edit, and sign.
Regulatory history
No VA warning letter and no state action found. Four court dockets share the company's name, two of them in its own federal district; we could not confirm they name this company and none shows a judgment in the free record.Source: CourtListener — full-text search for "American Medical Experts", all courts · Verified Sep 4, 2026
Accreditation is granted and can be revoked by VA's Office of General Counsel.No VA warning letters and no state actions on record.

VeteranAI is a different category from the company reviewed here. The column is included so the three options a veteran actually weighs sit on one line, not to suggest we do what they do.

14 · Questions

11 questions to ask before paying

Bring these to the call
  1. What does a nexus letter cost, in dollars, and can you email me the figure before the consultation?
  2. "Guaranteed Lowest Rates" against whom? Show me the policy: what proof of a lower price do you accept, and what do you pay if I find one?
  3. What is the Step 1 invoice and what is the Step 2 invoice? What have I paid if I stop after the draft?
  4. How many revisions are included, and what does one beyond that cost?
  5. What does rush service add in dollars, at each of your three tiers?
  6. What is your refund policy? Point me at the document — the Terms and Conditions page is an SMS policy.
  7. If the expert reviews my records and concludes no nexus can be supported, what have I paid?
  8. What happens to the medical records I upload to SharePoint after my report is finalised? How long are they kept and how do I have them deleted?
  9. Can I read the HIPAA authorization before I sign it?
  10. Who signs my letter, what is their board certification, and are they licensed in my state?
  11. Have you told me, unprompted, that an accredited VSO will file and appeal my claim for $0?
15 · Bottom line

Where this leaves you

American Medical Experts sells something VeteranAI does not: a board-certified clinician's signed opinion. We draft nexus letters from your records and the medical literature for your own clinician to review, edit and sign; we employ no clinicians. On credentials and track record this is the strongest profile in this category we have reviewed — eighteen years, 41 BBB reviews at 4.78, three complaints in three years, and named board certifications for each service.

The problem is not that the company cannot publish prices. It does. Its litigation clients can price a case to the page before they call — $995 for the first hundred pages, $1.75 for each one after, $695 to $3,995 for the signed report, $295 if they cancel. A veteran buying a nexus letter from the same company, under the same "Guaranteed Lowest Rates" page title, gets a consultation booking and no number at all. Whatever the reason for that, it is a choice rather than a constraint, and it is the single thing that would most improve this offer.

Price the free path first: an accredited VSO will file, argue and appeal for $0, and VA may already owe you an exam on the same question. If you want the record read before you commission an opinion on it, ours is a published subscription — Pro is $25/month or $250/year. Max 3× is $49/month or $499/year. Max 5× is $99/month or $999/year. No percentage of back pay, and the same price whether the claim is granted or denied.

16 · Sources

Sources and limitations

What we did not review
  • No published price for any veteran-facing service. The litigation fee schedule is published and is quoted here for comparison only; it is not a quote for a nexus letter, a DBQ or a telehealth diagnosis, and the two service lines may differ in specialist, scope and standard.
  • An earlier version of this review said no price appeared anywhere on the site. That was wrong — it overlooked the expert-witness page — and the claim is now limited to the veteran-facing services.
  • No private checkout disclosure — we never booked the free consultation, which is the only route to a veteran quote.
  • No customer contract, no service terms and no refund policy; none is published.
  • No delivered document. We have not read a nexus letter this company produced.
  • No internal refund data and no audited outcome dataset.
  • The four court dockets sharing the company's name are unverified as to identity. The complaints are behind PACER and we did not buy them, so we cannot say whether they concern this company, and none shows a judgment in the free record.
  • Three rows of the nine-task table name the document still needed: no page on the site says whether the company will submit a filing for you, whether it supports veterans after a denial, or whether it provides legal advice.

Read your own file before you pay anyone to read it for you

A published price, no percentage of anything, cancel whenever. And an accredited VSO will still represent you for $0 — find one near you.

Start free trial